• Montana Common Core Standards
    The Montana Common Core Standards (MCCS) represent a coherent progression of learning expectations in English language arts and mathematics designed to prepare K-12 students for college and career success.  The standards define the knowledge and skills students should have in their K-12 education, emphasize learning goals, describe end-of-year expectations, and focus on results, leaving room for teachers to determine how these learning goals should be achieved.
    MCCS standards:
    • Are aligned with college and work expectations;
    • Are clear, understandable and consistent;
    • Include rigorous content and application of knowledge through high-order skills
    • Build on strengths and lessons of current state standards;
    • Are informed by other top-performing countries, so that all students are prepared to succeed in a global economy and society; and
    • Are evidence-based.
    The standards for mathematical practice begin with eight Standards for Mathematical Practice.  These standards describe ways in which students should engage with the content, processes, and proficiencies of longstanding importance in mathematics.  The apply across all the grades, K-12.
    Standards for Mathematical Practice:
    Make sense of problems and persevere in solving them.
    • Reason abstractly and quantitatively.
    • Construct viable arguments and critique the reasoning of others.
    • Model with mathematics.
    • Use appropriate tolls strategically.
    • Attend to precision.
    • Look for and make use of structure.
    • Look for and express regular in repeated reasoning.
    In grades K-5, the standards provide a solid foundation in whole numbers, addition, subtractions, multiplication, division, fractions, and decimals.  In grades 6-8, a major emphasis is placed on the study of ratios, proportions, and algebra.  In grades 9-12, that standards require students to apply mathematical thinking to real-world problems. 
    Key Features of the standards across all curricular areas
    Reading:  Text complexity and growth of comprehension.
    The reading standards place equal emphasis on the sophistication of what students read and the skill with which they read.
    Writing:  Text types, responding to reading, and research.
    The writing standards acknowledge the fact that while some writing skills (e.g., the ability to plan, revise, edit, and publish) apply to many types of writing, other skills relate to specific types of writing:  arguments, informative/explanatory texts, and narratives.
    Speaking and listening:  Flexible communication and collaboration
    The speaking and listening standards requires students to develop a range of broadly useful oral communication and interpersonal skills, not just skills needed for formal presentations.
    Language:  Conventions (grammar), effective use, and vocabulary.
    The language standards include the essential "rules" of standard written and spoken English, but they also look at language as a matter of craft and making choices.
    Example of 9th grade reading and writing in history:
    Select a case that is scheduled to come before the United States Supreme Court.  Use the text of the U.S. Constitution and at least two other sources to support two decisions the court could make:  one arguing for the case and the other against it.  Support your arguments using the information you gathered.
Last Modified on November 19, 2013